Tweak of the Day: Star Wars and Rhetoric

Since beginning my adventure teaching public speaking, I’ve gone through many iterations of approaches and attempts to get my students to engage with what can be somewhat dry material, Aristotelian rhetoric. We only devote 12 hours of class time to this topic, as my class is only one month long, so I feel it is important to pack as much of rhetoric as I can. A critical mind considers multiple perspectives, appeals to an audience’s shared values and beliefs, and presents information in a logical, rational way. I firmly believe rhetoric is a conduit to developing the critical mind. But, I find that many of my students don’t respond to the traditional way of presenting rhetoric–no old dudes in togas.

My sneaky way of softening them up for my Star Trek metaphor for a strong persuasive message is Star Wars. The characters are familiar, the ideas simple in a resonant way, and adaptable. Having purpose is like mastering the force. A value claim tests the balance between the light and dark sides of the force. Vader’s plea to Luke functions as an example of failed manipulation (Luke is able to see the greater logic in the end–yes, you are my father and yes, the force is strong with me, but that doesn’t release me of my responsibilities to my friends).

Gems like this are only the beginning. Check out a "stormtroopers" search on Compfight.

So, when I struck upon this brilliant infusion of sci fi into what could be the most boring lecture ever, I had the challenge of finding images. Of course, I turned to my favorite site, Compfight, a Flickr search engine, and then I struck gold. There were several talented users whose passion for photography included an extensive gallery of Star Wars images. Here is the final set of lecture notes from Slideshare. Thanks especially to JD Hancock, Stefan, and leg0fenris!

Leave a Reply

Creating Communication

21st Century Presentation and Communication Tips

An Ethical Island

How to Teach Without a Lecture and other fun

CREATIVE GRAPHIC DESIGNER

An Artist A Graphic / Web Designer / Blog Designer An Art dealer

Metscher's Musings

My musings in Marketing Communications, Social Media, and Public Relations

hovercraftdoggy

A curated glimpse into a world of infinite beauty and creativity.

Moving People to Action

Conor writes about Intentional Leadership and Building Self Belief in those around you

Margaret Moon

Ideas about clarity, simplicity and design

Remote Possibilities

Here’s to better presenting!

Jitesh's Domain

Game Designer. Producer. Gamer.

Simply Presentation

better presenting through simplicity

Homes by Helene Delgado

Your Neighborhood Real Estate Expert

The Validated Hypochondriac

It turns out there was something wrong after all...

Y Generation Presentation

Present yourself! // Mutasd meg, ki vagy!

SLIDES THAT ROCK

Stand Out, Connect, Sell Your Idea!

