A tale of two banners

So, my students know I love Flickr user, JD Hancock. His hundreds of images of superheroes, stormtroopers, doodads, and tiny people are mostly Creative Commons licensed, they are fantastically shot, and often convey a rich story. When it came time to design a new banner for my site (oh, I started this about…hmm…three months ago), I knew I wanted to use one of his images. So, after much work, I narrowed it down to two. The first, and my absolute favorite, features superhero Gold of the Metal Men. I really love the color and I think his expression speaks to my crusade to end mediocre visual aids.

The second sort of developed out of my frustration with getting the Gold banner to fit my header size. It’s much less specific but it features lovely colors.

I am at a bit of a loss. I love them both, but only one can live. Which do you like?

Tagged , , ,

6 thoughts on “A tale of two banners

  1. […] Help my dear friend and superteacher Chiara Ojeda figure out which banner to use for her blog, Tweak Your Slides: […]

  2. Claire Duffy says:

    Golden rule of good communication – who is your audience and what works for them? Superheroes won’t work for over 40s, but if it’s your students who matter – go for it.

    • Hi Claire! I appreciate this perspective. I purposely chose a superhero that most young people would not recognize, as Metal Men were featured mostly in the 60s and 70s. I will keep working on adapting this to be accessible to both teachers and students while still maintaining the superteacher motif.

  3. Gopal Metro says:

    Another vote for Gold. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Creating Communication

21st Century Presentation and Communication Tips

An Ethical Island

How to Teach Without a Lecture and other fun

CREATIVE GRAPHIC DESIGNER

An Artist A Graphic / Web Designer / Blog Designer An Art dealer

Metscher's Musings

My musings in Marketing Communications, Social Media, and Public Relations

hovercraftdoggy

A curated glimpse into a world of infinite beauty and creativity.

Moving People to Action

Conor writes about Intentional Leadership and Building Self Belief in those around you

Margaret Moon

Ideas about clarity, simplicity and design

Remote Possibilities

Here’s to better presenting!

Jitesh's Domain

Game Designer. Producer. Gamer.

Simply Presentation

better presenting through simplicity

Homes by Helene Delgado

Your Neighborhood Real Estate Expert

The Validated Hypochondriac

It turns out there was something wrong after all...

Y Generation Presentation

Present yourself! // Mutasd meg, ki vagy!

SLIDES THAT ROCK

Stand Out, Connect, Sell Your Idea!

