Breaking Designer’s Block: Tweak Your Resume Update

It’s been a quiet few weeks on TYS, in no small part due to the new bane of my existence, the Tweak Your Resume deck. I will be debuting this deck on Slideshare next week, and it’s been quite the creative challenge. I am working on combining two slideshows, one on professionalism and another on some visual resume lessons from Slideshare decks and student decks. I am not sure if it is the combination of messages, the struggle I’ve had nailing down a theme that works, or my blending of photography and iconography, but this deck has given me some serious designer’s block! I’ve made my way out of it, but only after finally nailing down a strong cover image.

Tweak Your Resume1.001

I still have to eliminate the dreaded Venn Diagram (I have been banned by my superteacher partner in crime, Alex Rister from using it ever again), and I’m still working on a strong visualization for the 12 million folks unemployed in the US, but I am finally happy with the direction the deck is moving in and am excited to share it with readers and colleagues.

Tweak Your Resume1.010

My first version of the unemployment rate. I think it’s a bit weak and have a few more ideas I’m trying. What do you think?

Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 10.23.41 AM

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Breaking Designer’s Block: Tweak Your Resume Update

  1. Margaret says:

    Hi there
    I love your work.
    I think your unemployment slide is missing some humanity. It needs to represent the waste of human energy more strongly. To me unemployment is a waste of skills and denies people the opportunity to contribute fully to the economy and their local community. It would be good if you could portray those ideas somehow. In other words, it needs to be about people, not numbers. Your text ‘you’re not alone’ works well but isn’t matched by the visuals in my humble opinion.
    Cheers
    Marg

    • Margaret,

      That was such awesome feedback. Thank you so much! I went back to work on the deck after blogging and ditched the U.S. map approach. It felt too sterile, as you said, though I couldn’t articulate just what I didn’t like about trying to turn the map of the US into a pie chart. I went with people as you suggested, but upon reading your comment, I think I’ll try a few more people-based options to display that piece of data. I like the idea of the waste of human energy–perhaps I can visualize this. Thank you for your excellent feedback!

Leave a Reply

Creating Communication

21st Century Presentation and Communication Tips

An Ethical Island

How to Teach Without a Lecture and other fun

CREATIVE GRAPHIC DESIGNER

An Artist A Graphic / Web Designer / Blog Designer An Art dealer

Metscher's Musings

My musings in Marketing Communications, Social Media, and Public Relations

hovercraftdoggy

A curated glimpse into a world of infinite beauty and creativity.

Moving People to Action

Conor writes about Intentional Leadership and Building Self Belief in those around you

Margaret Moon

Ideas about clarity, simplicity and design

Remote Possibilities

Here’s to better presenting!

Jitesh's Domain

Game Designer. Producer. Gamer.

Simply Presentation

better presenting through simplicity

Homes by Helene Delgado

Your Neighborhood Real Estate Expert

The Validated Hypochondriac

It turns out there was something wrong after all...

Y Generation Presentation

Present yourself! // Mutasd meg, ki vagy!

SLIDES THAT ROCK

Stand Out, Connect, Sell Your Idea!

