Eek! I actually have to tweak my resume!

Slideshare.net recently featured my latest deck, Tweak your Resume as a top presentation of the day. Thank you, Slideshare! I hope that this deck, even more so than some of my other recent additions, gets the conversation going full force on the subject of visual resumes.

A viewer, Lorne Marr, had this to say about the visual resume approach, which really got me thinking about the best way to disseminate and spread this message:

Recently, I’ve encountered several people who overdone their resume, making them look like supermen and superwomen with experiences and skills impossible for their age and past experiences, but the worst part was the arrogant tone in which it was written. But I agree with you that a resume has to have an answer to the most important question – why choose me?

So, as presenters, we must find a way to convey our unique perspectives but also avoid being dishonest about our experiences and abilities. I am planning on reviving my on site workshop for faculty and staff on this subject using the new deck I created along with other awesome examples, and in preparation for this, I have revisited my first visual resume and am fervently working on restructuring, reforming, and revising the first version.  So far, I’ve begun migrating visuals from my Superteacher Infographic into a traditional Keynote slide. I love the superteacher icon, and the colors I’ve chosen speak to who I am as a person and professional. In reorganizing my deck, I am taking a cue from the biographical structure used by Empowered Presentations in their visual resume series:

I love how much cohesion exists between this series of presentations, but I also love how each one communicates the story and vision of the presenter.

I was also inspired by Alex Rister’s visual resume as well as David Crandall’s Anti-resume Manifesto, both of which open with information that sets a tone or context for the specific person’s skills, qualities, and experiences.

Here are my first few slides. I’d love to get your feedback readers!

new visual resume.001

new visual resume.002

new visual resume.003

new visual resume.004

new visual resume.005

new visual resume.006

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Eek! I actually have to tweak my resume!

  1. Loving the new slides, but you need a picture of yourself smiling with teeth!

  2. Hi Chiara,

    Thanks for featuring my comment!

    Check out my http://lornemarr.ca/ blog when you get a chance.

    Love your CV infographic.

    Best regards,

    Lorne

Leave a Reply

Creating Communication

21st Century Presentation and Communication Tips

An Ethical Island

How to Teach Without a Lecture and other fun

CREATIVE GRAPHIC DESIGNER

An Artist A Graphic / Web Designer / Blog Designer An Art dealer

Metscher's Musings

My musings in Brand, Marketing Communications, Social Media and Public Relations

hovercraftdoggy

A curated glimpse into a world of infinite beauty and creativity.

Moving People to Action

Conor writes about Intentional Leadership and Building Self Belief in those around you

Margaret Moon

Ideas about clarity, simplicity and design

Remote Possibilities

Here’s to better presenting!

Jitesh's Domain

Game Designer. Producer. Gamer.

Simply Presentation

better presenting through simplicity

Homes by Helene Delgado

Your Neighborhood Real Estate Expert

The Validated Hypochondriac

It turns out there was something wrong after all...

Y Generation Presentation

Present yourself! // Mutasd meg, ki vagy!

SLIDES THAT ROCK

Stand Out, Connect, Sell Your Idea!

