February: The Month of Unprecedented Growth

February has been an amazing month for myself, my significant other, my superteacher bff, and my superstar friend, writing center coordinator, freelance writer, and Younique consultant, Nicole Chapman. Nicole has been growing her body of work since graduating with her MFA in creating writing and earning the PROPS Excellence Award for outstanding service to Full Sail University. Her growth has expanded to her actualizing one of her natural talents and gifts–makeup and image consulting. Check out her teaching portfolio here for more information on this superconsultant and future superteacher. I am inspired to see someone talented take on the initiative of growing and evolving her skills!

I am participating in a tech networking event next month, Trucks and Tech III: Truckpocalypse. In preparation, I created business cards for myself and Jason, who is a freelance video editor. This has definitely helped me overcome my designer’s block and I am hard at work on my next Slideshare offering, based on my content development series.

bbcards copy.001

In designing my card, I used the colors and style in my TYS logo to help reinforce continuity in my brand.

bbcards copy.002

In designing the back, I wanted to convey the three core principles that drive my services as presentation consultant–developing ideas, designing visuals, and delivering an engaging message.

bbcards copy.003

I chose to keep the front of Jason’s card very simple; you’ll see why when you see the back of the card!

bbcards copy.004

I was inspired by other video editor business cards and chose the clapper as an iconic representative in designing this card.

I also met with David Morillo, a colleague, trainer, and former student, whose leadership presentation was positively incredible–a lovely blend of storytelling, audience engagement, and motivational ideas. Finally, Alex and I learned we will now be teaching a new set of students from the Sports Marketing Bachelor of Science.

There’s something in the air readers, something that has sparked an incredible amount of creative growth and opportunity in my network. I am taking a blogging break for the weekend to finish the PCP course reboot, participate in a 5k, and consult with my students, but I wondered if anyone else out there had felt or experience a similar spark of growth and opportunity?

Post-script, this week I heard from two of my heroines, Pamela Slim and Nancy Duarte. This is what my face looked like when I opened up my WordPress front page:

Photo on 2-27-14 at 1.32 PM

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Creating Communication

21st Century Presentation and Communication Tips

An Ethical Island

How to Teach Without a Lecture and other fun

CREATIVE GRAPHIC DESIGNER

An Artist A Graphic / Web Designer / Blog Designer An Art dealer

Metscher's Musings

My musings in Marketing Communications, Social Media, and Public Relations

hovercraftdoggy

A curated glimpse into a world of infinite beauty and creativity.

Moving People to Action

Conor writes about Intentional Leadership and Building Self Belief in those around you

Margaret Moon

Ideas about clarity, simplicity and design

Remote Possibilities

Here’s to better presenting!

Jitesh's Domain

Game Designer. Producer. Gamer.

Simply Presentation

better presenting through simplicity

Homes by Helene Delgado

Your Neighborhood Real Estate Expert

The Validated Hypochondriac

It turns out there was something wrong after all...

Y Generation Presentation

Present yourself! // Mutasd meg, ki vagy!

SLIDES THAT ROCK

Stand Out, Connect, Sell Your Idea!

